Local students have been named presidential scholars for the spring semester at Clarkson University in Potsdam, St. Lawrence County.

Canandaigua: Catherine Bennett, a sophomore majoring in chemical engineering; and Quinn Sullivan, a junior majoring in financial information and analysis.

Fayette: Carolyn Jessop, a junior majoring in biology.

Pultneyville: Gavin Buehler, a sophomore majoring in aeronautical engineering.

Romulus: Mackenzie Teachout, a sophomore majoring in chemical engineering.

Wolcott: Kalen Bjerga, a junior majoring in digital arts and sciences; Connor Leous, a sophomore majoring in engineering and management; and Michael Statskey, a sophomore majoring in mechanical engineering.

To be named a presidential scholar, a student must earn at least a 3.8 grade-point average.

Recommended for you