FAYETTE — State Sen. Pam Helming, R-54 of Canandaigua, will announce the 2019 Woman of Distinction for her district at a ceremony set for Thursday at Ventosa Vineyards.

The following are the nominees from the Finger Lakes Times‘ four-county readership area:

Seneca County — Elizabeth Becht, Surekha Chandak, Kaitlyn Laskowski and Jacqueline Vrooman of Seneca Falls; Jeanne Giovannini, Margaret Morse and Melissa Nesbit of Fayette; and Christal Kent of Junius.

Ontario County — Lorene Benson of Farmington; Ethel Peters of Geneva; Jennifer Schneider of Canandaigua; and Mary Ann Trickey of Hopewell.

Wayne County — Wilma Young of Williamson; Marya Vande-Doyle of Palmyra; Mary Simpson Smart of Galen; Heidi Schwittek-Barnes of Huron; Alice Bill of Sodus Point; Wanda Boughton and Carol Cuthbert of Newark; and Misty Currington and Lucile Hamlin of Macedon.

The 54th Senate District Woman of Distinction will be invited to join honorees from throughout the state at a ceremony in Albany in May. The honorees’ photo and biography will become part of a special exhibit on display in the Legislative Office Building.

Donna Schaertl and Laurie Crane are the two most recent 54th Senate District Women of Distinction.

Recommended for you