To the Editor:

This is further to the comments made by professor Walter Bowyer quoted in the Finger Lakes Times front-page article of Sept. 20 on the American Legion development and possible tax abatement for the developer.

City Manager Sage Gerling acknowledged that the City of Geneva Industrial Development Agency (IDA) expected to receive a formal request from Rivers Edge Capital for real property tax abatement. As stated in the article, the usual reason for granting tax abatement is simply not present in the Legion situation. Because of the beautiful lake view on a 13-acre lot on a state highway that is a major tourist route/wine trail, the developer cannot simply go to a different city and find these advantages.

We are not opposed to the development per se, if done responsibly; however, all taxpayers in the City of Geneva should contact the IDA to oppose this proposed gift of tax dollars to the developer.

Contact information for the voting members of the IDA is as follows: Lawrence (Rick) Bley (leedysrr@msn.com), Lowell Dewey (lowell.dewey@cs.com), Anne Nenneau (anenneau@ccnintl.com), R.J. Passalacqua (rj@ventosavineyards.com), Irene Rodriguez (irene.l.russell@gmail.com) and Benjamin Vasquez (bvasquez94@gmail.com).

In addition, comments should go to Sage Gerling, Executive Director (sgerling@geneva.ny.us), Adam Blowers, Chief Financial Officer (acb@geneva.ny.us), Erica Collins, City Administrator (ECollins@geneva.ny.us), Ken Camera, City Council Liaison (rkc@geneva.ny.us), and Randy Grenier, School District Board Liaison (randy.grenier@genevacsd.org).

Sam Bonney, Mary Lee Bourbeau, Walter Bowyer, Mary Winiarski, Chuck Hippert, Scott Michael, Margaret Michael, Mark Chambers, Jane Chambers, Patty D’Amico, Bob D’Amico, Deb Phelps, Joe Phelps, Dominic Fratangelo, Joan Fratangelo, Margaret Kennedy, Jim Kennedy, Karen McNamara, Kevin McNamara, Fran Herd, David Herd, Anne Gomez-Greenspon

Geneva

Trending Food Videos

Recommended for you