CLYDE — Cody Smith and Cailin Bloomer were honored with the Joan McAllister Awards given to Clyde-Savannah’s outstanding male and female athletes of 2018-19, part of the annual sports banquet and awards ceremony held recently.

Athletic Director Larry Lang welcomed the audience and introduced the coaches. Each coach recapped the team’s season and presented Most Valuable Player, Most Improved, Coaches Award and four or five-year awards.

The school recognized its Section V champions — Smith (indoor track), Emma Bowen (indoor track) and Parker Miller (bowling) — at the end of the banquet.

In addition to their other awards, Smith was honored with the Tony Mastrangelo Award for most improved senior football player, and Bowen was presented a Wayne A. Frisinger Award for an outstanding senior in track and field.

Among the other major awards winners:

• Michael Fowler received the Charles “Wick” Fischette Award for outstanding senior student-athlete and a Wayne A. Frisinger Award for an outstanding senior in track and field.

• Maisie Powers took home the Varsity Club scholarship.

• Noah Bastedo earned the Dominic “Baldy” Vitticore Award for outstanding senior football lineman.

The individual sports awards are listed below:



MVP: Camden Chance

Most Improved: Noah Rattray

Coaches Award: Noah Bastedo

Girls Volleyball

Outstanding Defensive Player: JeAnna Paddock

Outstanding Offensive Player: Riley Carr

Coaches Award: Allison Payne

Four-Year Awards: JeAnna Paddock, Riley Carr

Boys Cross Country

MVP: Michael Fowler

Most Improved: Derrick Tandle

Coaches Award: Liam Dietschler

Four-Year Awards: Michael Fowler, Greg Bailey

Girls Cross Country

MVP: Emma Rath

Most Improved: Madison Fremouw

Coaches Award: Anna Shimp


MVP: Sydney VanVleck

Most Improved: Julia Secor

Coaches Award: Maisie Powers

Four-Year Award: Emma Bowen

Five-Year Awards: Kristen DeLisio, McKenna Hunt, Sydney VanVleck, Maisie Powers


Boys Basketball

MVP: Camden Chance

Most Improved: Jordan Cooley

Coaches Award: Steve Dunn

Girls Basketball

MVPs: Tayler Sharp, Cailin Bloomer

Glass Cleaner (Coaches) Award: Kelsie DiSanto

Four-Year Awards: Cailin Bloomer, Tayler Sharp

Co-Ed Swimming & Diving

MVPs: Brandon Baker, Keiko Takai

Most Improved: Skylar Lumadue

Coaches Award: Sigourney Secor

Boys Bowling

MVP: Connor Wright

Most Improved: Alex Davis

Coaches Award: Riley Wright

Four-Year Award: Riley Wright

Boys Indoor Track & Field

MVPs: Cody Smith, Michael Fowler

Coaches Award: Tyler Kell

Four-Year Awards: Cody Smith, Michael Fowler

Girls Indoor Track & Field

MVP: Emma Bowen

Most Improved: Emma Rath

Coaches Award: Breeanna Mills

Four-Year Awards: Maisie Powers, Julia Secor, Megan Rice, Natalie Maddox, Breeanna Mills


MVP: Kristen DeLisio

Most Improved: Kelsey Lainhart

Coaches Award: Hannah Kaplun

Five-Year Award: Kristen DeLisio



MVP: Steve Dunn

Most Improved: Jack Bastian

Coaches Award: Jacob Geil


Offensive Player of the Year: JeAnna Paddock

Defensive Player of the Year: Kenadee Carr

Most Improved: Erin Mann

Five-Year Award: JeAnna Paddock


MVP: Zachary Lawson

Most Improved: Connor Wright

Boys Track & Field

MVPs: Cody Smith, Michael Fowler, Ashlyn Rattray, Jordan Cooley

Coaches Award: Noah Bastedo

Four-Year Awards: Michael Fowler, Joshua Arliss, Noah Bastedo, Jordan Cooley

Girls Track & Field

MVPs (Track): Tayler Sharp, Maisie Powers, Julia Secor

MVP (Field): Emma Bowen

Coaches Award: Emma Rath

Four-Year Awards: Maisie Powers, Julia Secor, Megan Rice, Emma Bowen, Natalie Maddox

Recommended for you