ONTARIO — The best wrestlers in Section V will hit the mats at four locations today and tomorrow as they begin a postseason journey they hope takes them to the state capital.

The Section V BBB Championships will be held at Wayne Central High School, and Wayne-Finger Lakes East champion Midlakes has earned four No. 1 seeds.

Ryan MacDonell (132 pounds), Rob Middlebrook (195), Hammond Raes (220) and Blake Smith (285) are No. 1 seeds. Zach Notebaert (145) is a No. 2 seed.

Palmyra-Macedon’s Ethan Ferro (106) and Emerson Block (138) also earned top seeds for the BBB tournament, while last year’s Division II 113-pound state champion, Wayne’s Matt Caccamise, is No. 1 at 120 pounds.

Newark had two wrestlers earn No. 2 seeds: lightweight standouts Sean-Paul Whittlesey (113) and Troy Ludolph (126).

Waterloo’s heavyweight quartet of Cole Marr (182), JR Miller (195), George Williams (220) and Cameron Fowler (285) are No. 2 seeds.

Geneva’s highest seed is Adam Mateo, No. 3 at 170 pounds.

In the Class BB tournament, which will be held at Byron-Bergen High School, Marcus Whitman had one wrestler earn a top seed: Justin Smith at 99 pounds. Andrew Norrison (145) and Preston Smith (182) are No. 2 seeds.

North Rose-Wolcott’s Jorden Brown (160) and Dom Eriksen (285) are No. 2 seeds, also.

The Class B tournament will be held at Keshequa High School. South Seneca has two wrestlers entering the fray as top seeds: Holden Waid (132) and Adam Wagner (145). Falcons heavyweight Keagan Carmenatty is the No. 2 seed at 285 pounds.

Trending Food Videos

Recommended for you