A group of bipartisan senators is calling for an end to changing our clocks every year for Daylight Saving Time.

WFLA reports Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Florida, reintroduced the Sunshine Protection Act Tuesday to make DST, also known colloquially as “daylight savings time,” permanent across the country.

“The call to end the antiquated practice of clock changing is gaining momentum throughout the nation,” Rubio said in a statement Tuesday.

The bill is supported by both Republicans and Democrats, including James Lankford, R-Oklahoma; Roy Blunt, R-Missouri; Sheldon Whitehouse, D-Rhode Island; Ron Wyden, D-Oregon; Cindy Hyde-Smith, R-Mississippi; Rick Scott, R-Florida; and Ed Markey, D-Massachusetts.

“Americans’ lifestyles are very different than they were when Daylight Saving Time began more than a century ago,” Whitehouse said. “Making Daylight Saving Time permanent will end the biannual disruptions to daily life and give families more daylight hours to enjoy after work and school.”

Daylight Saving Time 2021 begins on the second Sunday in March. That means you need to move your clocks ahead one hour at 2 a.m. Sunday, March 14, 2021, and we “lose” an hour of sleep as we “spring forward.”

Many digital clocks, such as on phones and computers, automatically change the time overnight, but other clocks should be moved ahead one hour before going to bed on Saturday, March 13.

Daylight Saving Time will end on the first Sunday of November, which is Nov. 7 this year. That’s when we “fall back,” or turn the clocks back one hour and “gain” that hour of sleep back. If the bill becomes law and DST is made permanent before November, we wouldn’t change our clocks again in the fall — or ever again.

Daylight Saving Time was first established during World War I to conserve fuel for war industries. The law was repealed after WWI ended, but was re-established by Congress during World War II due to energy consumption and became U.S. law in 1966 when President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Uniform Time Act, establishing uniform start and end times within standard time zones. The policy, regulated by the Department of Transportation, aims to save energy, reduce traffic fatalities, and reduce crime.

CBS reports studies have shown making Daylight Saving Time would reduce car crashes and pedestrian accidents as daylight hours will better align with drivers’ standard work hours and increase visibility. It could also benefit the economy, reduce childhood obesity and lower risks of cardiac issues, stroke and seasonal depression.

Not all states observe DST. Arizona and Hawaii do not participate in Daylight Saving Time, along with five major U.S. territories: American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Island, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. Multiple bills have been introduced in the New York state legislature to end the changing of clocks in the Empire State.


(c)2021 Syracuse Media Group, N.Y.

Visit Syracuse Media Group, N.Y. at www.syracuse.com

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.

Trending Food Videos

Recommended for you